Final Goodbyes

Well this is it… It’s my last night in the beautiful city of Barcelona. As excited as I am to see my family and friends back at home, I’m not ready to leave my wonderful students and host family here. Saying goodbye to Gabriela and Patricia was harder than I ever imagined. We ended the night with a family picture in our WKU shirts and I put the girls to sleep for one last time.

From my host family showing me all around Barcelona to making me all the traditional Spanish food, I could not have asked for a better family. The girls were the little sisters I had always wanted. They looked up to me for everything and always wanted to share everything with me.

My teacher, Miss Hellen, and the rest of the teachers at RMSI were wonderful! They were all so sweet and welcoming. Even when I couldn’t understand them or they couldn’t understand my English, we always found a way to communicate.

Saying goodbye to my class and the teachers was one of the hardest goodbyes. The students each colored a picture for me and made me a poster with our picture on it. I have never received so many hugs and kisses! The kids all have a special place in my heart and I will miss them dearly!

I had a wonderful time here in Barcelona! I could not have asked for a better host family or placement. I am so thankful for this wonderful experience that I will cherish forever!

20140514-223003.jpg

20140514-223013.jpg

20140514-223054.jpg

20140514-223023.jpg

20140514-223042.jpg

Leave a Reply

